NFL Playoffs, week 2

Posted: January 14, 2012 in Uncategorized

Last Week Recap: I got 3 of 4 right, not so much on the scores but on the end result. Tebow threw me for a loop and the Broncos pulled it off in OT.

Playoffs Week Two

NFC
Saints @ 49ers

49ers are a really good team and very well rounded. Alex Smith has a chip on his shoulder so there is that chance of a breakout performance, unfortunately for the 49ers there is also the chance that he buckles in the spotlight. Drew Brees should be solid and make few mistakes, that is his typical style. I think Frank Gore will have 100+ and the SF defense will not let New Orleans run away with the game. It could actually very easily go to the 9ers, Im torn on this one, New Orleans by a whisker. San Fran is a helluva team, just not their time.

New Orleans by 3-10 points, potentially in overtime. Drew Brees 350+ 2TD, 1 INT. San Fran will have 1 defensive TD and 1 Special Teams TD.

Giants @ Packers

Giants defense showed its muscle against Atlanta and had Matt Ryan on the run, the Giants offense showed the strong running game that they can field as well. Here are the negatives to NY, the run game has been spotty and the secondary has been poor all season, the Packers can definitely take advantage of a weak secondary

The Packers are outlandishly good. The surgeon Rodgers could filet the porous Giants defensive backfield with short slants, seam routes, and take advantage of the fast D-Line with screens, and dump routes to their athletic tight ends. Their running game has been absent all year, but maybe there will be a repeat of last year and the run game will appear in the playoffs. I predict Rodgers will have 300+ yards passing 50+ yards rushing and the defense will have 2 INT’s of Manning and a likely 2-3 fumble recoveries of the RB’s and WR’s. I also predict a special teams TD by Cobb.

The Packers are my favorite team and I might be overestimating their dominance of the veteran Giants, I just think Rodgers is a machine incapable of letting me down. Packers by 14-20.

AFC

Houston at Baltimore

Am I the only person in America who sees the skills of this phenom QB in Houston? I think we have the next Tom Brady in our midst. This dude is calm, collected, and talented. He will slay Baltimore….now what’s his name again?

The true hero will probably not be Arian Foster or Andre Johnson, I think Ben Tate, Owen Daniels, or the yet to be identified QB will be. The #1’s in the Baltimore defense are superior, I think their weakness lies in stopping the TE and bruiser RB that Houston will most definitely field.

Baltimore is led by the mediocre Flacco and will likely rely on the run game to get points. Their defense will impact the game and cause problems for Houston throughout the game, Im just not sure that Baltimore can capitalize on those defensive advantages.

Houston by 7+, unknown QB 2 TD passes, Ben Tate 1 TD Rushing and 1 TD Receiving. Owen Daniels 1 Td Receiving.

THE GAME OF THE WEEK
Denver at New England

Tebow. The guy made me watch the Broncos play the Steelers last week. I have to say, I am intrigued by the whole deal. I’d like to see the Broncos win, but I have my doubts that they can pull it off.

The Patriots defense is less than impressive and there is a high likelihood that they could let ol Tommy down. But the Pats QB is outstanding and capable of putting the game away in the first quarter with laser accuracy and short demoralizing passing.

The playoffs always seem to have that surprise story, I don’t think Tebow will be it. I think in this game the Patriots defense will be a surprise though. They will step up and frustrate Tebow and the Broncos. Im betting against him again this week, let’s see what happens!

Pats by 2 scores. Tebow will have 50+ yards rushing, 1 TD pass. Brady will have 3 TD Passes and 300+ Yards

Comments
  1. swburke21 says:

    I only got 1 of 4 right….looks like I wont be making predictions next week, just embarassing. P.S. the Texans QB is TJ Yates, and he is definitely not the next Tom Brady.
    New Super Bowl prediction Giants vs. Ravens

Leave a Reply

